altText
altText
altText

Want to think you have it rough?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
justbazz1

Want to think you have it rough? Empty
PostSubject: Want to think you have it rough?   Want to think you have it rough? Icon_minitimeMon Oct 29, 2012 7:22 pm

Here is a little story about how life is lived in Bulgaria. Last night, about 11 pm, my wife (who is Bulgarian), slipped on some wet tiles in the kitchen and broke her right leg and ankle.. amongst other things, I'm a qualified paramedic, so the diagnosis was fairly easy. Ambulance was called and arrived within ten minutes or so..with a nurse and a driver..nurse was top notch..driver stated that he only drove and if I wanted my wife transporting to the hospital then it was my task to get her down from the fifth floor and into the ambulance..the nurse provided an air splint which I applied to my wife's leg..but it deflated in around four minutes!!! Arrived (eventually) at the hospital and the doctor on duty sent her off for an X-ray..he looked at the prints for a moment or two, made a decision, ordered a cast to be applied and twenty minutes later we were in a taxi..going home! No pain relief or comfort applied or offered at any time during this rather upsetting time. I brought her home about one hour and fifty minutes after the fall, complete with a hip to toe plaster cast! I can tell you all that this has been a serious learning curve for me...not to mention my poor wife!!!
Back to top Go down
Equinus
Super user
Super user
Equinus

PostSubject: Re: Want to think you have it rough?   Want to think you have it rough? Icon_minitimeMon Oct 29, 2012 7:47 pm

Oh dear, I hope your wife is feeling better soon. I hate to think of her going through all that without some sort of pain relief. Please give her our best wishes and tell her we are hoping for a swift recovery.