View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
BGBound
Senior user
Senior user

Dried fruit Empty
PostSubject: Dried fruit   Dried fruit Icon_minitimeSat Sep 14, 2013 7:26 pm

Brenda has noticed an absence of dried fruit in the markets and supermarkets.
We are both fond of fruit cake and wondered if everyone else has the same
"
problem "
? Dried fruit 2581928987 Dried fruit 1763269238
Back to top Go down
Equinus
Super user
Super user
Equinus

Dried fruit Empty
PostSubject: Re: Dried fruit   Dried fruit Icon_minitimeSun Sep 15, 2013 4:06 am

You can get raisins in Kaufland in 300g packets, and some smaller supermarkets have the odd small pack but you have to search for them, often with nuts and snacks. As a keen baker myself I am finding it a little frustrating too, but will adapt by using other fruit, such as figs and apricots. Not so good if you like a rich .....errrr...seasonal cake though. And mincemeat will be a challenge. I would like to go to Metro to see what they have there but it's business only as far as I can tell. Sugar is another challenge, though some places have brown, at a cost, haven't seen icing sugar and making your own just isn't right. Not seen glace cherries or ground almonds for my favourite cake either, used my last a week ago.

Anyone else know better...please?

Sara
Back to top Go down
justbazz1

Dried fruit Empty
PostSubject: Re: Dried fruit   Dried fruit Icon_minitimeSun Sep 15, 2013 5:33 am

Good morning Sara.

Pop into Metro and get issued with a card which must be used each time you visit..takes about 5 minutes and is free.

They have a reasonable array of dried fruits and plenty of choice for sugars.
Back to top Go down
Equinus
Super user
Super user
Equinus

Dried fruit Empty
PostSubject: Re: Dried fruit   Dried fruit Icon_minitimeSun Sep 15, 2013 5:47 am