HomePortalFAQRegisterLog in


Share | 

 EU Streamlines Schengen Visa System

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

Posts : 6136
Join date : 2009-08-15

PostSubject: EU Streamlines Schengen Visa System   Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:26 am

[size=75:10eabfnr]novinite 5 April 2010

EU Streamlines Schengen Visa System

From Monday, April 5, a new code comes into effect for short stay visas for the 22 European Union and three non-EU Schengen states in a bid to make getting an EU visa faster and streamline the legal issuing conditions.

A short stay is defined as not more than 90 days in any 180 days period. The Schengen countries provide for passport control-free travel across their internal borders.

“We are introducing, for the first time, clear deadlines for the request and the final answer,“ a European Commission spokesman outlined some of the constraints on issuing countries.

In order to ensure that member states apply similar processing times, the visa code introduces a maximum deadline of two weeks for obtaining an appointment for launching the application, and a maximum of 15 calendar days for member states to take a final decision on the application.”

If a visa is refused, the applicant must be told why (the code sets out a standard list of reasons), and he or she has the right to appeal a negative decision.

The standard fee for a short-stay visa of EUR 60 stays the same, but a reduced rate of EUR 35 is to be expanded to cover children up to 12 years old and citizens of countries which have visa facilitation deals with the EU.

More than ten million Schengen visas were issued in 2008. The top issuers were Germany, France and Italy. Among the central and eastern EU members, the Czechs and Poles came first.

Visa policy within the EU continues to evolve, including a common database under developments, and biometric requirement, with particular attention to security and preventing visa fraud.

The Schengen states are Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Bulgaria, Britain, Cyprus, Ireland and Romania are EU members but remain outside the Schengen zone.

Bulgaria submitted its formal declaration of readiness in September 2007 and sent European authorities follow-up reports, penning in March 2011 as the target date for accession to the Schengen zone.

The estimates turned meaningless due to a delay in the award of a tender to produce biometric passports and lack of progress on the second generation of the EU's Schengen Information System, more commonly known as SISII.

At the beginning of February 2010 the European Commission extended the deadline for Bulgaria to sign contracts in preparation for joining the Schengen Area until March 31, 2010.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to pass...it's about learning to dance in the rain."
Back to top Go down
Super user
Super user

Posts : 799
Join date : 2009-08-18

PostSubject: EU Streamlines Schengen Visa System   Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:07 am

This is some good news that's been taking its time but its here at last lets hope it all goes well

Back to top Go down

EU Streamlines Schengen Visa System

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

» Le visa américain, et plus particulièrement le DS-160
» automatic watering
» Match target crossbow project
» Mammillaria sp. SB1566
» New Products!

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: Visa and Passport information-